Rocky Mountain Research Station New Publications

The RMRS maintains 14 research locations throughout a 12-state territory encompassing the Great Basin, Southwest, Rocky Mountains, and parts of the Great Plains. The station employs more than 400 permanent full-time employees, including about 100 research scientists.

Scientists conduct research that spans an area containing 52% of the nation’s National Forest System lands (54 national forests and grasslands). In the lower 48 states, our territory also includes 55% of the nation’s Bureau of Land Management lands; 48% of the designated wildernesses; 37% of National Park Service lands; numerous other public and tribal lands; and 41% of the non- urban/rural private lands.

The RMRS administers and conducts ecological research on 14 experimental forests, ranges, and watersheds over the long term, even centuries, enabling us to learn how forests change as climate and other factors change over time.

See more at:

Attached Files
Attached PDF document
Jan-March-2017-list.pdf (1.1 MB, 193 downloads)

John Stewart
Vice President, BlueRibbon Coalition